goals with grace

thepruimlife goalswithgrace

Happy Monday, Happy February, and Happy Groundhog Day (man, that’s a lot of happy wishes there) to you all! As an attempt to stay proactive with the decisions I’ve made for myself for 2015, I’ve decided to join in with Hayley at The Tiny Twig and other women across the blog scene for the Goals With Grace link up. Basically, I’ll be posting some of my goals that I’d like to accomplish this month, and then come March I’ll be able to share how I did, but I’m aiming to complete them with a mindset of giving myself grace. It’s a good thing to set goals for ourselves, but we just have to be careful not to take them so seriously that they rule over our hearts and minds. That “grace” word is one that keeps drilling it’s truth into my heart, and I’m happy to share the overflow of that with you all in a new way. So without further ado, here’s what I’m hoping to accomplish in the next 28 days:

  1. Read 4 chapters of Systematic Theology. To make steady progress on one of my year goals, I want to aim to read at least a chapter a week.
  2. Start using an envelope budget. This way we can start paying more attention to our spending habits, and start investing more into our saving habits.
  3. Finally introduce a series on The Pruim Life that I’ve been dwelling on for months. Seriously, months. It’s something near and dear to my heart, and I want it to be just right, but if I don’t get it out there and make a move on it soon, it may just never happen.
  4. Continue on in the job search process. I’ve been updating my resume, creating a federal resume (that was a doosy), and utilizing all of the resources for military spouses on base. The next step is to start applying, applying, applying!
  5. Establish a habit of going to the gym at least 3-4 times a week. I don’t want to just wait until the day of to decide if I’m going to the gym or not. I want to keep myself accountable by starting a routine.
  6. Complete the gallery wall in our living room. We have a giant white wall that needs filling in our living room, and I already have pieces to include. I’d like to finish up a few other pieces to add in, and then actually put it together and hang it up. Then I will feel like our living room is finished (at least for now).

What goals could you set for yourself this month?

4 thoughts on “goals with grace

  1. Love your goals! I’m with you on the gallery wall. I hung the frames up in my dining room almost a year ago and half of them are still empty haha! High fives for reading through Systematic Theology! My husband has this on our bookshelf but I haven’t had the chance to look through it. I kind of want to now:)

    Like

    • Thanks Laurie! (& thanks for stopping by!) The gallery wall is a daunting task, but I’m trying to soak up this time while I have some inspiration! & Systematic is definitely one that requires some time commitment, but overall I think is so worth it. From what I had already read through last year, I learned a lot – either from questioning what I was reading, or from having something explained to me & it just click. I highly encourage you to check it out since you can easily get your hands on it : )

      Like

  2. Grudem’s theology book is HUGE but so good!
    Excited to see what the Lord is teaching you through it.

    Also, the envelope system is what saves our budget every month! Especially in the grocery department.

    So glad to have found your sweet (and encouraging) blog! 🙂

    Like

    • Rachel, thanks so much for stopping by & sharing such sweet words of encouragement! I’m excited to try out the envelope system – it’s been on my to-do list for months on months on months…it’s about time I buckled down & did it! I’m just so glad to hear that it’s working for others!

      Like

Leave a Reply

