worth the read // vol. 3

simple 026

If you haven’t had a chance to check it out already, in the latest post in the From Comparison to Contentment series I shared my own personal struggle with insecurity and spoke on how one of the most natural things for us to compare to others is our appearance. To tag along with that, I have a round up of other blog posts, articles, and movements that are speaking up about the same thing. Each & every one of these, I believe, is worth the read.

This series is one that hits all the points, but this post in particular struck my heart the most.

This movement is sweeping the world. It started a few months after I had already started my own “no make up month” and it directly fell in line with the heart of the matter.

Because skinny people have insecurities too.

“…my perception of personal beauty and worth is about who Jesus is. Because let’s face it, I will always find another woman with better hair, whiter teeth, and smoother skin than me. If I only measure my beauty by the person standing across from me, I will always lose. It’s only when I choose to believe the truth of the Gospel that I can let go of comparison and grasp the value that was bought for me by Jesus on the cross. I am loved and accepted and celebrated beyond my wildest imagination. I will always measure up. I will always be precious – to God the Father, through Christ.”

“There will always be someone more fit, more toned, more tan, or more athletic. There will always be someone cuter or prettier, and there will always be someone with a nicer house/more interesting life/better job. And even when we meet that next goal, lose those last five pounds, or climb one more rung of the ladder…there will always be a bigger house, five more pounds, or another rung. We are meant to be content and find joy, but we so quickly start looking for this in an endless chase after life goals that are impossible to conquer.”

This letter to a daughter says so much that relates to every woman too.

Leave a Reply

