catching up // summer 2015 (part one)

With an unintentional silence on the Pruim Life this summer, I have a lot to catch you all up on. So before I get all carried away with all the fall feels I’ve been feeling, let’s take a look back to this summer. Because I’m still soaking up every warm day we’re getting while I can. Here’s some of what we’ve been up to with our travels this summer:

We kicked off our summer with a week long visit from my parents. We spent most of their time here relaxing, hanging out, and showing them our everyday lives, but my mom and I did get a chance to go visit our local zoo. Don’t let sizes fool you – for being such a small zoo, there was much greater opportunity to get close to some of the animals. We were pretty impressed. Although we did almost get attacked by squirrels that were stealing food from some bunnies.

IMG_8792

When my parents packed their car to head back home, I packed mine along with them to caravan back to Illinois for a very brief, last minute planned trip home. One of my friends has been teaching in Africa this past year, and she came home for a couple weeks this summer to visit, so I made plans to drive to see her the same time one of our other friends was flying in from Nebraska (#collegereunion). Typically our trips home are jam-packed with fitting in as many loved ones as possible, & I’m usually quite impressed by the amount of people we’re able to see, even if my sleep schedule severely suffers. But this trip was a little more low-key as I kept it mostly to myself – granted my sleep schedule still suffered. I knew that I’d be back in a couple weeks anyways, so I just focused on spending time with a few family members and Hannah & Taryn. Highlights include: a throwback sleepover with two of my cousins, a perfectly made cotton candy blizzard, game night with a few extended family members, a day in the sun with all of my cousins’ little boys, roasting strawberries covered in marshmallow fluff & Nutella over the stove top at Hannah’s sister’s house, & of course just spending good ol’ quality time to catch up with each and every person I saw.

IMG_8860

IMG_8863

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

IMG_9017

Our biggest summer plans were completely shaken up due to Adam getting offered an opportunity to go back out to California for work (super exciting) for 5 weeks (not so exciting). It just so happened that he would leave the week that we had planned to go home for our friends’ wedding. So right at the beginning of July I dropped him off at the airport and then hit the road with Boone the following day to still make the trip home – just for a shorter period of time. It was a perfectly timed trip in the sense that I was able to keep my mind off Adam being gone for a little while. So while home I spent a whole lot of time catching up with some of my favorites and celebrating the next chapter of two dear friends’ lives.

Processed with VSCOcam with kk2 preset

IMG_9342

My last big trip of the summer was yet again a last minute planned adventure. About 2 days before Adam was leaving, we toyed with the idea for me to come visit. We found a reasonably priced fare for a perfectly carved out time frame for me to go visit him for a few days to break up the time we had to spend apart. Hashtag worth it.

Adam was staying at the same base that we were living at this time last year, so while I was there we visited some of the spots that we frequented before. We watched dolphins at Pismo beach, got lunch and a salted caramel pretzel milkshake at Hoagie’s, went paddleboarding for the first time in Santa Barbara, and window shopped along State Street. I also took advantage of our time in Cali to get some food that we don’t have access to in Minot. (What up In-N-Out, Chipotle, & Chick-fil-a!). My stomach was certainly well pleased.

IMG_7802 IMG_7804

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

It was exciting to mix it up and spend a couple days back in California; to “getaway” with the hubs; to see the ocean and the mountains again; to revisit the place we were living last year. But I’m honestly so content with our life where we’re at, so it was good to come home. And it was SO SO SO good to have Adam join me back home about a week after I left.

For those who aren’t familiar with Adam and I’s story, we spent the majority of our dating relationship long distance. By majority, I mean about 4 out of the 5 years. We’ve been there. We were well prepared for this brief time apart. But that doesn’t make it any more enjoyable – a little more manageable maybe, but in no way, shape, or form preferred – especially now that we’re married. I tried so hard not to be dramatic about it. There are families that go so much longer being separated. Especially in the military. There are families that have to conquer deployments that last much longer, and are much riskier. I have so much respect and empathy for the people who have to deal with that. So I did my best to remind myself of that throughout the weeks we spent apart. I just missed my best friend. We do have some pretty awesome friends that were sure to take care of me though, and they spent plenty of intentional time hanging out with me while he was gone.

It is just so, so good to have him back and be able to establish our “normal” again. Now that he’s home I sometimes fight off the urge to wrap my arms around him and never let go. Then again, sometimes I don’t. Boone was thrilled to have his daddy back too. I wasn’t there to witness it, but apparently he stuck his head between Adam’s legs and cried for a good 5 minutes when Adam walked through the door.

So all in all, we ended up having more travels in our summer than we initially planned this year, but it gave us quite an adventure. For the sake of time and space, I’ll save the rest of the details of our summer for another day, so tune in later this week for all the in-between, everyday stuff.

How about you…where did you travel to this summer?

One thought on “catching up // summer 2015 (part one)

Leave a Reply

